This … is CBS

No, I haven’t seen the movie yet, but today’s Edward R. Murrow’s birthday.

In 1954, Eisenhower was asked:

Q. Joseph Harsch, Christian Science Monitor and NBC: Mr. President, would you care to say anything to us about the loyalty and patriotism of Edward R. Murrow?

THE PRESIDENT. I am going to say nothing at all about that.

First of all, I don’t comment about people, I don’t comment about things of which I know nothing.

I will say this: I have known this man for many years; he has been one of the men I consider my friend among your profession. That is what I do know about him.

So far as indulging in philosophical discussion, I can’t remember any instance; but I do say that he has been one of those that over the years, in the war, when he was working in London, and so on, I always thought of him as a friend.

Comments are closed.