Voir Dire E-Interview: Jamie Carson

I’d like to introduce the premiere of a new Voir Dire endeavor: E-Interview. In this feature we basically interview a variety of people via email. Alas, I can’t promise a consistent theme to these interviews or how they will go – one simply cannot predict the creative process.

This week’s E-Interview subject is Jamie Carson, (soon to be) Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Georgia.

Jamie in his office

Welcome to E-Interview, Jamie. First, let me just say that you have a quite an impressive research record.

Thank you.

A good number of political scientists, including yours truly, conduct research on important American political institutions such as the courts and the presidency. I see that your research concerns some other trifling institution – what is it again?

It’s Congress.

Oh, yes, Congress. And what exactly is it that they do around here?

Uh, they make the laws of our nation.

Touché, sir, touché – but that wouldn’t matter very much without the courts’ interpretation or the executive’s enforcement of the laws, now would it?

Well, perhaps, but it’s important to note that….

Next question: Is it not true that the vast majority of laws are promulgated by the state legislatures, whose cumulative policy influence greatly exceeds that of congress?

I am getting a bit agitated with this style of questioning. Please don’t make me angry, you wouldn’t like me when I’m angry.

Hey, chill out slick, I’m not even that wild about you when you aren’t angry.

One last question: Can you really expect us to believe that you have published this many articles in such a short period of time under, let us say, “normal” conditions?

What are you implying?

I am not implying anything – I’m asking you flat out – are you, in fact, Iron Man?

Yes. In fact, I am Iron Man.

One response to “Voir Dire E-Interview: Jamie Carson

  1. Hey Guys,

    Thanks for allowing me to post a comment on your blog.

    There is a new book that talks about proper techniques and strategies that can help you with your closing arguments and jury selection.

    http://www.voirdiresummation.com

    Thank you for your time and I enjoyed reading your law and courts wordpress blog.

    Good Day,

    Ray