I don’t think I’m gonna go anymore …

This is what Peter (played by Ron Livingston) says to his date Joanna (played by Jennifer Aniston) in the classic workplace comedy “Office Space” after announcing that he really hates his job. Here is some dialogue that follows:

Joanna: You’re just not gonna go?
Peter Gibbons: Yeah.
Joanna: Won’t you get fired?
Peter Gibbons: I don’t know, but I really don’t like it, and, uh, I’m not gonna go.
Joanna: So you’re gonna quit?
Peter Gibbons: Nuh-uh. Not really. Uh… I’m just gonna stop going.
Joanna: When did you decide all that?
Peter Gibbons: About an hour ago.

The movie has a ton of great quotes and this isn’t even really one of the better scenes, but it did come to mind recently when I read a recent post of Prawfsblawg – “Why I don’t write” which discusses the merits of and reasons for not publishing after gaining tenure. I’m wondering if there will be a follow up post – “Why I don’t teach”.

Comments are closed.