Interview with one of the fired US Attorneys

Last Sunday, the NYT’s Deborah Solomon interviewed former US Attorney David Iglesias. Below are some selections:

Q: In 2001, you were tapped by President Bush for your dream job — U.S. attorney for New Mexico — only to end up as one of the eight federal prosecutors whose firing five years later set off an outcry. With your book “In Justice” about to come out, have you heard anything from President Bush?

No, not even a little note of thanks. If somebody served honorably, you at least have your staff member send a form letter or something: thanks for your service.

Are you still a Republican?

Yes, a disillusioned Republican. I can’t blame the Democrats for this mess. It was fellow conservatives, people who thought and acted and dressed like me, who threw away their moral compass.

Just last month, the Senate Ethics Committee officially admonished Pete Domenici, the longtime New Mexico senator, for making an improper phone call to you.

I thought their public rebuke was a roughly fair result.

He pressured you into indicting Democrats before the 2006 election?

He attempted to get me to hurry, and he was unsuccessful. He called me at home on a weekend and asked me for some very sensitive information, which was: Is this going to get filed before November?

What makes all of this so startling is that you’re practically a poster boy for a new kind of Karl Rove-style Republican.

I’m a military veteran, I’m Hispanic and I’m an evangelical Christian. Those are three enormous pillars of the Republican base.

As a Christian, do you forgive your political tormentors for their role in all of this?

Yes. Karl Rove, Domenici, Heather Wilson. When I’m praying in the morning, if I feel bad vibes for anybody, I’ll say I forgive that person. It is important not to let hate or bitterness take root in your heart.

Do you think Karl Rove mentions you in his prayers?

My understanding is that he is agnostic. I didn’t find that out until a couple of months ago. The irony is you have this agnostic using the religious beliefs of evangelical Christians for political purposes.

Comments are closed.